Difficulty Overview

There are various difficulty settings in Diablo 4. They impact our adventures traversing the world seeking treasure and challenging content alike. In some of them, you will be tested or run for your dear life. Let's look over the difficulties and see how they work in the latest installment.

All information in this article is from the Press Preview Access of Diablo 4. The content presented here is subject to change, and will be updated as we learn more.

Starting Difficulties

Starting a new adventure in the world of Diablo 4

After creating your character, you choose what Difficulty (World Tier) you want to start with. These are designed to be manageable while leveling.

Adventurer (World Tier I)

- Recommended for new players to Diablo
- Enemies are easy to defeat
- Drops are average

Veteran (World Tier II)

- Recommended for Diablo veterans that what to be tested
- Enemies will challenge you
- Better drops
- 20% XP bonus & more Gold

These 2 difficulties are great. For battle-tested Diablo players, Veteran serves to make sure your leveling experience is not dull and keeps you on your toes. Adventurer difficulty allows new players to get their feet wet and eases them into ever challenging content in the future.

Endgame Difficulties

Boldly facing the new terrors in higher difficulties!

After reaching level 50 you can move up through more difficulty ranges. These require certain milestones to be achieved and offer more exclusive rewards the higher you go.

Nightmare Difficulty (World Tier III)

- Unlocked by completing the Cathedral of Light dungeon in World Tier 2: Veteran (Recommended Level 50)
- Champion monsters now have a chance to appear
- Sacred items now have a low chance of dropping
- Nightmare Sigils, which in turn unseal Nightmare Dungeons, are unlocked
- Players gain 100% XP bonus
- Non-Physical resistances are reduced by 20%.

Nightmare difficulty requires you to complete a specific dungeon to prove you are ready. Nightmare brings Champion monsters with it. Nightmare Dungeons are now available and require Nightmare Sigils to open them. Like in previous Diablo iterations, extra effort rewards more experience and drops. The latter being a new item type - Sacred items! Lastly, the game doesn't let you go full glass cannon, as you need to start overcoming resistance penalties.

Hell Difficulty (World Tier IV)

- Unlocked by completing the Fallen Temple dungeon in World Tier 3: Nightmare (Recommended Level 60)
- Sacred items drop more frequently
- Rare Nightmare Sigils unsealing more difficult challenges are unlocked.
- Players gain 150% XP bonus
- Non-Physical resistances are reduced by 30%.

Hell difficulty requires you to complete another specific dungeon to prove you are ready. Rarer Nightmare Sigils start dropping and you receive more bonus experience. Sacred items drop more frequently, rewarding you with better loot for defeating higher level monsters. Lastly, the game continues to increase the resistance penalties.

Torment Difficulty (World Tier V)

- Unlocked by completing the Archives of Issalia dungeon in World Tier 4: Hell (Recommended Level 70)
- Ancestral items have a low chance of dropping
- New Uniques items can be found
- Players gain 250% XP bonus
- Non-Physical resistances are reduced by 40%.

Torment difficulty requires you to complete a third specific dungeon to prove you are ready for the highest difficulty. You gain a huge bonus in experience. Ancestral items, yet another item class, start dropping along with new uniques! Lastly, the game ups the resistance penalties once again.


  • Difficulty in Diablo 4 is a hybrid between Diablo 2 and Diablo 3.
  • There are 2 starting difficulties for new players, Adventurer for New Players and Veteran for Pros.
  • Each Difficulty (World Tier) is a good stepping stone towards the next, filled with a sense of accomplishment.
  • The game challenges you with more monsters, activities, and resistance penalties. However, it also rewards you in experience and treasure alike.

Happy exploring, just don't die while doing it!


Written by Dredscythe.
Reviewed by Raxxanterax & wudijo.


Dec 7th 2022
Article Created from the Press Release Version of Diablo 4.