Renown System

The Renown system is a critical part of progression for all Characters in Diablo 4. It serves as your reputation within the different Sanctuary Zones and is split into 5 stages. It grants Gold, additional Skill Points, Potion Charges and Paragon Points. Here's everything you need to know about it.

All information in this article is from the Press Preview Access of Diablo 4. The content presented here is subject to change, and will be updated as we learn more.

Renown System Rewards

Each main Zone has its own Renown counter. At certain thresholds, the points you collected unlock rewards. The stages are split up into an account wide bonus and a character-specific reward. Fresh characters start with 0 Renown in all zones.

Here's the breakdown of the stages and their rewards:

1. 80 points
2. 100 points (180 Total)
3. 120 points (300 Total)
4. 200 points (500 Total)
5. 300 points (800 Total)
Account Wide Character Bonuses
+1 Skill Point
+1 Potion Charge
+1 Skill Point
+1 Skill Point
+4 Paragon Points
Reward per Character
Each stage provides you with 10,000 Gold and some Experience (depends on Character Level and stage).

Collecting Renown Points

Points are rewarded by completing the following objectives:

Discover Areas: 2 points
Pick up Waypoints: 10 points
Activate Altars of Lilith: 5 points
Complete a Stronghold: 50 points
Complete a Side Quest: 15 points
Finish Dungeons: 20 points
Completing Side Quest grants Renown Points

Tips & Tricks

  • Focus on completing stages 1-4 early as they are fast and grant a lot of extra power.
  • Find the route that combines as many objectives as possible:
  • Do not enter cellars as they don't grant any points.
  • Events don't contribute to Renown, so you can skip them.


  • Collect Renown points in each zone to complete the 5 reward stages by collecting Waypoints, discovering new sub-zones, finding Altars of Lilith, or completing Strongholds, Side Quests, and Dungeons.
  • The system gives a global Skill Point and Paragon Point bonus to all characters on your account.
  • Each Character starts with 0 points in all zones. Complete their progress to gain large boosts in experience.
  • Skip cellars and Events if you're trying to complete the Renown stages as quickly as possible.


Written by Teo1904
Reviewed by Raxxanterax & wudijo


Dec 7th 2022
Article created from the Press Preview Access of Diablo 4.