Powered By


Last Updated: June 11th 2024

Share on Social

The Final Shape

Pathfinder, a state-of-the-art new objective system, released with The Final Shape. Pathfinder merges patrols, bounties, and weekly vendor challenges into one streamlined system accessible via the Director. With Pathfinder open, you can see 20 objectives split up over 5 tiers. All objectives lead to the one thing Guardians love the most: LOOT. Bungie created Pathfinder to consolidate the pursuit systems, empower players with more agency, increase the significance of player decisions and to better tie player progression to playing the game.

Pathfinder in-game screen capture from Bungie.

How to Use Pathfinder

Complete the nodes from left to right. Every objective has rewards after you claim when completed. You are able to complete them without restriction, but you cannot claim a reward from a tier if you have not claimed a reward in the previous tier. When you claim the reward to the far right, you are able to reset your Pathfinder. Resetting costs glimmer, but it is worth doing. This gives you a new set of objectives and a new reward to chase. By far the coolest aspect of this new tool is that it is completely divergent from other Guardian's Pathfinders. It uses a mix of procedural generation and authorial control, meaning that it's based on a mix of your gameplay algorithm and what you choose to complete. Objective progress, unclaimed rewards, and the path reward automatically reset at the end of each week.

Where is Pathfinder?

The Pathfinder node is found within the Vanguard node on the Destinations tab at the bottom left of the screen. This system has objectives that should completed in ritual activities like Crucible, Gambit, Vanguard Ops, Nightfalls, and Onslaught. Some of the objectives are completed in any ritual activity. There are also objectives specific to a certain activity.

Gambit specific objective in Pathfinder.

Pathfinder Rewards

Rewards from Pathfinder are earned through completing objectives and pathways.


Objective Reward - 25 Vendor Reputation
- 4000 XP
Path Completion Reward 1st Path - [Redacted] Exotic 
- Powerful Tier 3 engram (The Pale Heart gear) 
- 1 Rank of vendor reputation 
- 25,000 XP 
Path Completion Reward 2nd Path - [Redacted] Exotic 
- The Pale Heart engram (Focusable) 
- 375 vendor reputation 
- 25,000 XP 
Path Completion Rewards (1 through 3)3rd Path - The Pale Heart engram (Focusable) 
- 375 vendor reputation 
- 25,000 XP 
Path Completion Rewards (1 through 3)Repeatable - World Legendary engram 
- 150 Vendor Reputation 
- 4000 XP 


  • Calibrations directly replace bounties. This is the most common objective category on The Pale Heart Pathfinder. 
    • In The Pale Heart, defeat combatants of a certain faction.
    • In The Pale Heart, defeat combatants using weapons that match your subclass damage type.  
  • For Field Assignments, players must go to locations in the Pale Heart and complete a custom encounter that only appears while the objective is active. This is the second-most common objective category on The Pale Heart Pathfinder. 
    • In The Pale Heart, travel to the Refraction and claim a reward for defeating Harrak, the Rejoined. 
    • In The Pale Heart, travel to the Blooming and complete the offering event. 
  • Ventures are destination-focused activities and objectives. Only two per The Pale Heart Pathfinder and they only appear in the tier before the final reward.
    • In The Pale Heart, progress through the Overthrow activity and loot the chests.
    • Overthrowing the Landing grants additional progress.

The Crucible, Vanguard, and Gambit bounties have been replaced by the Rituals Pathfinder. Every path has objectives that need to be completed in their respective activities, as well as generic ones that can be completed in any of the three ritual activities. Completing an objective is akin to completing a single bounty, and completing a path is the same as completing a weekly challenge. Progress in the Pathfinder is shared among all characters and can be repeated indefinitely. Consequently, the distribution of rewards has been adjusted accordingly.

First Three Completions:

  • Prime Engram
  • Enhancement Prism
  • 150 Bright Dust
  • 25000 XP 

Next Seven Completions:

  • Enhancement Prism
  • 150 Bright Dust
  • 4000 XP 

Subsequent Completions:

  • Enhancement Core
  • 30 Bright Dust
  • 4000 XP 


Pathfinder introduces a fresh type of pursuit, merging the bounty system with all ritual activities. It offers easily defined objectives, ensuring any path leads to rewards. Each Guardian's Pathfinder becomes unique after the initial reset, with objectives determined by individual gameplay. Guardians make their own fate.


Written by: ShieldMaiden

Reviewed by: SquirrelyDan, Tenkiei

© 2024 Maxroll Media Group, All Rights Reserved