Hero Overview Torchlight Infinite

Welcome to the Hero Overview! This article is the place to be if you're undecided on what character to play. Each of the unique Heroes in Torchlight Infinite are specialized for different playstyles; these should be thought of as archetype enablers rather than "classes". Each of the 7 Heroes have up to 3 Hero Traits that further customize gameplay. Much like Ascendancies in Path of Exile, or sub-classes in Lost Ark these can completely change the type of build a Hero is best for. For example, Carino's Lethal Flash Trait allows projectile skills to Shotgun and Return, making sources of additional projectiles become a powerful damage multiplier!

Hero Trait Selection is permanent, so if you start playing Carino's Lethal Flash Trait and want to swap to his Ranger of Glory Trait later, you need to level a new character. A wide selection of base Hero Traits are available to you when you start playing Torchlight Infinite. Additional traits can be earned with Hero Emblems, or purchased for $15 through the Season Pass or in the shop. In future Seasons the current paid traits will be earnable through Hero Emblems.

Base Traits (Free)

  • Rehan - Anger
  • Carino - Ranger of Glory
  • Gemma - Ice-Fire Fusion
  • Youga - Spacetime Illusion
  • Moto - Order Calling

Earnable Traits

  • Youga - Spacetime Elapse
  • Carino - Lethal Flash
  • Gemma - Frostbitten Heart

Paid Traits

  • Thea - Wisdom of The Gods
  • Erika - Wind Stalker
  • Moto - Charge Calling
  • Rehan - Seething Silhouette

WARNING: The leveling speed shouldn't be the deciding factor for your Hero Trait of choice. The average player needs about 6 hours to reach level 68 and unlock the end game content. Once you reach that point, the leveling speed of a Hero Trait won't matter anymore for the rest of your journey in the world of Leptis.

Berserker Rehan

Divineshot Carino

Frostfire Gemma

Spacetime Witness Youga

Commander Moto

Oracle Thea

Cateye Erika


Hopefully, this article can provide you some insight about the basics of each Hero Trait. If you are able to narrow things down to 2 or 3 options, check out some of the Leveling or Endgame Guides linked throughout. While you can't change your Hero Trait once selected, but it's pretty easy to level a new character if you change your mind.

  • Berserker Rehan - Anger
    • Big man gets mad, and smashes everything!
  • Berserker Rehan - Seething Silhouette
    • Smash everything with help from your imaginary friend.
  • Divineshot Carino - Ranger of Glory
    • Projectile expert extraordinaire, from bows to guns he's your man.
  • Divineshot Carino - Lethal Flash
    • Meleeranger wielding the power of Shotguns for massive single target damage.
  • Frostfire Gemma - Ice-Fire Fusion
    • Newly reworked, combine the power of Fire and Ice to Obliterate your foes!
  • Frostfire Gemma - Frostbitten Heart
    • You can't go wrong with a cheat death and explosions.
  • Spacetime Witness Youga - Spacetime Illusion
    • A trickster whose Spacetime Illusion can copy your Spells.
  • Spacetime Witness Youga - Spacetime Elapse
    • This vaguely grape-flavored version of Youga specializes in DoTs and Reaping.
  • Commander Moto - Order Calling
    • From Summon Spider Tanks to Summon Machine Guard Moto's your man for all things Minion.
  • Commander Moto - Charge Calling
    • What's better than Minions? Minions that EXPLODE! PS: He's an Autobomber.
  • Oracle Thea - Wisdom of The Gods
    • Thea wields the power of Blessings to create massive bursts of damage.
  • Cateye Erika - Wind Stalker
    • She's a cat girl who specializes in Multistrike and going fast!


Written by Tenkiei
Reviewed by Raxxanterax, Xtra37


Jan 5th 2023
Article Published for Season 2